Born in Island of Borneo, Malaysia. He studied at the Southern California Institute of Architecture and one year in the stage production at the Juilliard School. In 2000, he received a professional degree in Architecture at The Cooper Union in New York City. A recipient of the coveted Marion O. and Maximilian E. Hoffman Rome Prize in Architecture and named a Fellow of the American Academy in Rome.

He is the recipient of numerous international awards including Shinkenchiku-sha, Central Glass, Graham Foundation, ENYA Prize and American Academy in Rome. His research and work have been published internationally in the Wall Street Journal, Asia CNN, CCTV, Shinkenchiku, LEAP, Japan Architects, Domus, UIA Tokyo, AREA, Artforum, and among others. His publication includes the “Open City: An Existential Approach” (Charta, 2015.) and “On the Edge: Ten Architects on the China” (Rizzoli, 2007) with Ian Luna.

In 2014, invited together with Roan-Ching-Yueh to curate the first time themed exhibition ‘Cloud of Unknowing: A City with Seven Streets’ at the Taipei Fine Art Museum on the urban spatiality of East Asia where they scaled museum ground into streets, according to China Times voted #5 “Taiwan’s Top Ten Public Exhibition in 2014.” He is co-curator for the Hong Kong Exhibition for the 16th International Architecture Exhibition at the Venice Biennale. Currently, chief editor of Occupy, a new revamped journal of The Hong Kong Institute of Architects and chief editor of Sounding Architecture Manifest.


  • Sounding Architecture, Curatorial and Research Project, China (2019)

  • Sounding Architecture Manifest, Publication (2018-20)

  • Mumbai Studies, Drawing Project and Exhibition, India (2018-19)

  • Notational Drawing #4 (Du Yun), Walt Disney Concert Hall, Los Angeles (2019)

  • Text and Architecture Project #2 (Natalie Diaz), United States (2019)

  • Masque Project Series, Curatorial and Research Project, China (2020)



  • Ken Ueno

  • Du Yun


  • Natalie Diaz


  • Yi Zhou


  • Nanamu Hamamoto


  • Diane Lewis

  • Wang Shu

  • Roan Ching-yueh

  • Lukas Feireiss

  • Wucius Wong


  • Qiu Zhijie

  • Ming Wong


  • Kenneth Chow

  • Jason Chong

  • George Guu

  • Sebastian So

  • Maximilien Rousset

  • Chenwei Weng

  • Anthony Chu

  • Hortense Prot

  • Natacha Langevin

  • Kazuhisa Matsuda

  • Jaeho Chong

  • Quentin Yiu

  • Anthony Chung Ming Ko

  • Adeline Hok Ming Chan

  • Clarrisa Lim

  • Koudai Konno

  • Carlos Palomera

  • Carmen Ka Man Lam

  • Hazel Chan

  • Carman Lee

  • Jason Yeung

  • Lap Lin

  • Vivian Shuang Zhang

  • Tommy Gunnwan

  • Clement Klein